My top 100 Blogs. Let me show you how to read 100 blogs each week.

My top 100 Blogs. Let me show you how to read 100 blogs each week.

Harry S. Truman once said:

“Not all readers are leaders, but all leaders are readers.”

I believe that we are all leaders in some area of our lives. This could be the workplace, school, parenting, volunteering, church, mentoring, friendships or any where else.  If we are all leaders then we better all become readers as well. For me as a speaker I need to be extremely knowledgeable on the topics that I speak on. Blogs have become paramount in keeping current with what is going on in the culture around me as well as in Christian faith communiity. When I tell people that I follow roughly 100 blogs people usually think I am crazy. Over my 17 years as a speaker I have learned how to collect knowledge when I see it. For example when I am on social media, reading magazines, books or in conversation and someone mentions a blog that they follow I add it to my list and see if it might be useful to me. I encourage everyone to keep a list of great resources that can help you in your life.

So how do I follow 100 blogs. I have been using a a website called Pulse.me which was recently bought by LinkedIn. For years the website and the app on my iPad were synced up. Recently since LinkIn bought pulse there have been issues with syncing so I now use only one platform on my iPad. I added in all of the blogs into the app and once a week I sit down and scroll through all of the blogs to see if there is any applicable content for me to use. This usually takes about 30 minutes. In the app you see small squares vertically which are each of the blogs from the blogger and you then have roughly 10 blogs horizontally as you scroll up and down. It is so simple.

Below are the blogs that I am currently following. This changes month by month as I drop certain blogs and add others. If after going through this list you think I should be following other blogs please send them through. You will also find that there is a wide range of blogs below. I love to read a wide range of opinions, thoughts and discussion on all areas of Christian faith.

These are in no particular order.

Faith Based Blogs

  1. Carey Niewhof – http://careynieuwhof.com/
  2. Rachel Held Evans – http://rachelheldevans.com/
  3. Carlos Whittaker – http://ragamuffinsoul.com/
  4. Orange Blogs – http://orangeblogs.org/
  5. Tim Challis – http://www.challies.com/
  6. Seth Barnes (Radical Living) – http://www.sethbarnes.com/
  7. David Sawler – http://www.davidsawler.com
  8. Mike King – http://king.typepad.com/mike_king/
  9. Bruxy Cavey – http://bruxy.com/blog/
  10. Anne Marie Miller – http://www.annemariemiller.com/
  11. Jamie the Very Worst Missionary – http://www.theveryworstmissionary.com/
  12. Brian McLaren – http://brianmclaren.net/
  13. POTSC (People of the Second Chance) – http://www.secondchance.org/blog-welcome/
  14. Tall Skinny Kiwi – http://tallskinnykiwi.com/
  15. Breathe – http://crystalkirgiss.wordpress.com/
  16. Doggie Head Tilt – http://www.doggieheadtilt.com/
  17. The Matt Walsh Blog – http://themattwalshblog.com/
  18. Jefferson Bethke – http://jeffbethke.com/
  19. Sarah Bessey – http://sarahbessey.com/
  20. Kary Oberbrunner (DayJob to Dream Job) – http://www.dayjobtodreamjob.com/blog/
  21. Storyline – http://storylineblog.com/
  22. Desiring God – http://www.desiringgod.org/blog
  23. John Fischer – http://catchjohnfischer.wordpress.com/
  24. Justin Taylor (Between Two Worlds) – http://thegospelcoalition.org/blogs/justintaylor/
  25. Kevin DeYoung  – http://thegospelcoalition.org/blogs/kevindeyoung/
  26. Jared C. Wilson – http://thegospelcoalition.org/blogs/gospeldrivenchurch/
  27. Release the APE – http://www.releasetheape.com/
  28. Bo Lane – http://bolane.org/
  29. Chris Chase – http://www.thatchrischase.com/blogthoughts/
  30. The Pastor’s Pen (Ted Haggard) – http://tedhaggardblog.com/
  31. Counselling One Another – http://counselingoneanother.com/
  32. NewDirection – http://www.newdirection.ca/blog/
  33. Tyler Ward – http://www.tylerwardis.com/
  34. Common Sense Media (Parents) – https://www.commonsensemedia.org/blog
  35. Common Sense Media – https://www.commonsensemedia.org/educators/blog
  36. Q – http://qideas.org/
  37. her.meneutics – http://www.christianitytoday.com/women
  38. We are His Daughters – http://godfearingmama.wordpress.com/
  39. Single Dad Laughing – http://www.danoah.com/blog
  40. To Love Honour and Vacuum – http://tolovehonorandvacuum.com/
  41. Lisa-Jo Baker (Surprised by Motherhood) – http://lisajobaker.com/
  42. Lark News – http://www.larknews.com/
  43. Matthew Paul Turner –http://matthewpaulturner.com/blog/
  44. Church Marketing Sucks – http://www.churchmarketingsucks.com
  45. Church Pastor – http://www.churchpastor.com/
  46. Thom S. Rainer – http://thomrainer.com/blog/
  47. Tony Morgan – http://tonymorganlive.com/blog/
  48. Scott Jackson – http://christianflamethrower.blogspot.ca/
  49. Jared Wilson – http://jarridwilson.com
  50. Ministry Matters – http://www.ministrymatters.com/

Youth Ministry

  1. CPYU (Center for Parent / Youth Understanding) – http://www.cpyu.org/blog/
  2. Youth Ministry Unleashed – http://youthministryunleashed.com/
  3. Fuller Youth Institute – http://fulleryouthinstitute.org/blog
  4. Barefoot Online – http://blog.barefootonline.com/blog/
  5. JuniorHighMinistry.org – http://juniorhighministry.org/blog/
  6. More Than Dodgeball – http://blog.simplyyouthministry.com/
  7. Youth Hope – http://www.youthhope.com/blog/
  8. Adam Clark – http://www.adambrclarke.com/blog
  9. The Youth Cartel – http://theyouthcartel.com/blog/
  10. Youth Worker – http://www.youthworker.com/
  11. DYM (Download Youth Ministry) – http://blog.downloadyouthministry.com/
  12. Jonathan Mckee Writes – http://www.jonathanmckeewrites.com/

Parenting

  1. Today (Parents) – http://www.today.com/parents
  2. Free-Range Kids – http://www.freerangekids.com/
  3. Not Alone (Special Needs Parenting) – http://specialneedsparenting.net/
  4. Parents Cue (Do Family Better) – http://theparentcue.org/blog

Leadership

  1. Seth Godin – http://sethgodin.typepad.com/
  2. Michael Hyatt – http://michaelhyatt.com/
  3. Leadership Journal (Parse) http://www.christianitytoday.com/parse/
  4. Gifted for Leadership – http://www.christianitytoday.com/gifted-for-leadership/
  5. Leading Smart – http://leadingsmart.com/
  6. Leadership Wired – http://www.johnmaxwell.com/blog/
  7. Tim Elmore (Leading the next generation) – http://growingleaders.com/blog/
  8. Ron Edmondson – http://www.ronedmondson.com/
  9. Bryan Miles – http://bryanmiles.me/
  10. Sharpening Leaders – http://www.sharpeningleaders.com/

Mental Health (Faith based)

  1. TWLOHA (To Write Love on Her Arms) – http://twloha.com/blog

Mental Health (mainstream)

  1. Pick the Brain – http://www.pickthebrain.com/blog/
  2. A Splintered Mind – http://douglascootey.com/

Marketing

  1. Social Triggers – http://socialtriggers.com/#.
  2. Marie Forleo – http://www.marieforleo.com/

Mainstream Blogs

  1. Feminist Frequency – http://www.feministfrequency.com/
  2. Upworthy – http://www.upworthy.com/
  3. Lifehack – http://www.lifehack.org/
  4. The Verge – http://www.theverge.com/
  5. Elite Daily (Voice of Generation Y) – http://elitedaily.com/

About The Author

Brett Ullman

Brett Ullman travels North America speaking to teens, young adults, leaders and parents on topics including sexuality, mental health, men, dating and media. Brett's seminars engage and challenge attendees to try and connect our ancient faith with our modern culture we live in. Participants are inspired to reflect on what we know, what we believe and how our faith ought to serve as the lens through which we view and engage tough conversations in our society today.

4 Comments

  1. Daryl Little

    Brett,

    That’s quite a list of blogs you have there.

    Tell me, why Brian McLaren, Perry Noble, Ted Haggard, her.meneutics anhd Rachel Held Evans?
    Those can hardly be considered blogs that can be counted on for actual biblical content.

    Reply
  2. brett ullman

    Hi Daryl, Thanks for your message. I look through a number of different blogs each week some are faith based and some are not. Even though I disagree heavily with some of the blogs that the people above posted I like to be informed of the different conversations presently going on in our Christian faith community so I can be ready for questions on these issues when they come up at my speaking engagements.

    Reply
    • Daryl Little

      Makes sense to me.

      Thanks for responding.

      Reply
  3. Dan

    Tim Ferriss, he has a Podcast as well that I really enjoy. He deconstructs high level performers.

    Reply

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Upcoming Events

  1. CYWC – Kelowna

    October 24 @ 8:00 am - October 26 @ 5:00 pm
  2. Trinity Christian School – Burlington

    October 29 @ 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
  3. Trinity Christian School -Burlington

    October 29 @ 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm

RECENT VIDEO

Loading...

Support this Ministry

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Share This