Brett.Ullman

Tag - parenting

My top 100 Blogs. Let me show you how to read 100 blogs each week.

Harry S. Truman once said:

“Not all readers are leaders, but all leaders are readers.”

I believe that we are all leaders in some area of our lives. This could be the workplace, school, parenting, volunteering, church, mentoring, friendships or any where else.  If we are all leaders then we better all become readers as well. For me as a speaker I need to be extremely knowledgeable on the topics that I speak on. Blogs have become paramount in keeping current with what is going on in the culture around me as well as in Christian faith communiity. When I tell people that I follow roughly 100 blogs people usually think I am crazy. Over my 17 years as a speaker I have learned how to collect knowledge when I see it. For example when I am on social media, reading magazines, books or in conversation and someone mentions a blog that they follow I add it to my list and see if it might be useful to me. I encourage everyone to keep a list of great resources that can help you in your life.

So how do I follow 100 blogs. I have been using a a website called Pulse.me which was recently bought by LinkedIn. For years the website and the app on my iPad were synced up. Recently since LinkIn bought pulse there have been issues with syncing so I now use only one platform on my iPad. I added in all of the blogs into the app and once a week I sit down and scroll through all of the blogs to see if there is any applicable content for me to use. This usually takes about 30 minutes. In the app you see small squares vertically which are each of the blogs from the blogger and you then have roughly 10 blogs horizontally as you scroll up and down. It is so simple.

Below are the blogs that I am currently following. This changes month by month as I drop certain blogs and add others. If after going through this list you think I should be following other blogs please send them through. You will also find that there is a wide range of blogs below. I love to read a wide range of opinions, thoughts and discussion on all areas of Christian faith.

These are in no particular order.

Faith Based Blogs

  1. Carey Niewhof – http://careynieuwhof.com/
  2. Rachel Held Evans – http://rachelheldevans.com/
  3. Carlos Whittaker – http://ragamuffinsoul.com/
  4. Orange Blogs – http://orangeblogs.org/
  5. Tim Challis – http://www.challies.com/
  6. Seth Barnes (Radical Living) – http://www.sethbarnes.com/
  7. David Sawler – http://www.davidsawler.com
  8. Mike King – http://king.typepad.com/mike_king/
  9. Bruxy Cavey – http://bruxy.com/blog/
  10. Anne Marie Miller – http://www.annemariemiller.com/
  11. Jamie the Very Worst Missionary – http://www.theveryworstmissionary.com/
  12. Brian McLaren – http://brianmclaren.net/
  13. POTSC (People of the Second Chance) – http://www.secondchance.org/blog-welcome/
  14. Tall Skinny Kiwi – http://tallskinnykiwi.com/
  15. Breathe – http://crystalkirgiss.wordpress.com/
  16. Doggie Head Tilt – http://www.doggieheadtilt.com/
  17. The Matt Walsh Blog – http://themattwalshblog.com/
  18. Jefferson Bethke – http://jeffbethke.com/
  19. Sarah Bessey – http://sarahbessey.com/
  20. Kary Oberbrunner (DayJob to Dream Job) – http://www.dayjobtodreamjob.com/blog/
  21. Storyline – http://storylineblog.com/
  22. Desiring God – http://www.desiringgod.org/blog
  23. John Fischer – http://catchjohnfischer.wordpress.com/
  24. Justin Taylor (Between Two Worlds) – http://thegospelcoalition.org/blogs/justintaylor/
  25. Kevin DeYoung  – http://thegospelcoalition.org/blogs/kevindeyoung/
  26. Jared C. Wilson – http://thegospelcoalition.org/blogs/gospeldrivenchurch/
  27. Release the APE – http://www.releasetheape.com/
  28. Bo Lane – http://bolane.org/
  29. Chris Chase – http://www.thatchrischase.com/blogthoughts/
  30. The Pastor’s Pen (Ted Haggard) – http://tedhaggardblog.com/
  31. Counselling One Another – http://counselingoneanother.com/
  32. NewDirection – http://www.newdirection.ca/blog/
  33. Tyler Ward – http://www.tylerwardis.com/
  34. Common Sense Media (Parents) – https://www.commonsensemedia.org/blog
  35. Common Sense Media – https://www.commonsensemedia.org/educators/blog
  36. Q – http://qideas.org/
  37. her.meneutics – http://www.christianitytoday.com/women
  38. We are His Daughters – http://godfearingmama.wordpress.com/
  39. Single Dad Laughing – http://www.danoah.com/blog
  40. To Love Honour and Vacuum – http://tolovehonorandvacuum.com/
  41. Lisa-Jo Baker (Surprised by Motherhood) – http://lisajobaker.com/
  42. Lark News – http://www.larknews.com/
  43. Matthew Paul Turner –http://matthewpaulturner.com/blog/
  44. Church Marketing Sucks – http://www.churchmarketingsucks.com
  45. Church Pastor – http://www.churchpastor.com/
  46. Thom S. Rainer – http://thomrainer.com/blog/
  47. Tony Morgan – http://tonymorganlive.com/blog/
  48. Scott Jackson – http://christianflamethrower.blogspot.ca/
  49. Jared Wilson – http://jarridwilson.com
  50. Ministry Matters – http://www.ministrymatters.com/

Youth Ministry

  1. CPYU (Center for Parent / Youth Understanding) – http://www.cpyu.org/blog/
  2. Youth Ministry Unleashed – http://youthministryunleashed.com/
  3. Fuller Youth Institute – http://fulleryouthinstitute.org/blog
  4. Barefoot Online – http://blog.barefootonline.com/blog/
  5. JuniorHighMinistry.org – http://juniorhighministry.org/blog/
  6. More Than Dodgeball – http://blog.simplyyouthministry.com/
  7. Youth Hope – http://www.youthhope.com/blog/
  8. Adam Clark – http://www.adambrclarke.com/blog
  9. The Youth Cartel – http://theyouthcartel.com/blog/
  10. Youth Worker – http://www.youthworker.com/
  11. DYM (Download Youth Ministry) – http://blog.downloadyouthministry.com/
  12. Jonathan Mckee Writes – http://www.jonathanmckeewrites.com/

Parenting

  1. Today (Parents) – http://www.today.com/parents
  2. Free-Range Kids – http://www.freerangekids.com/
  3. Not Alone (Special Needs Parenting) – http://specialneedsparenting.net/
  4. Parents Cue (Do Family Better) – http://theparentcue.org/blog

Leadership

  1. Seth Godin – http://sethgodin.typepad.com/
  2. Michael Hyatt – http://michaelhyatt.com/
  3. Leadership Journal (Parse) http://www.christianitytoday.com/parse/
  4. Gifted for Leadership – http://www.christianitytoday.com/gifted-for-leadership/
  5. Leading Smart – http://leadingsmart.com/
  6. Leadership Wired – http://www.johnmaxwell.com/blog/
  7. Tim Elmore (Leading the next generation) – http://growingleaders.com/blog/
  8. Ron Edmondson – http://www.ronedmondson.com/
  9. Bryan Miles – http://bryanmiles.me/
  10. Sharpening Leaders – http://www.sharpeningleaders.com/

Mental Health (Faith based)

  1. TWLOHA (To Write Love on Her Arms) – http://twloha.com/blog

Mental Health (mainstream)

  1. Pick the Brain – http://www.pickthebrain.com/blog/
  2. A Splintered Mind – http://douglascootey.com/

Marketing

  1. Social Triggers – http://socialtriggers.com/#.
  2. Marie Forleo – http://www.marieforleo.com/

Mainstream Blogs

  1. Feminist Frequency – http://www.feministfrequency.com/
  2. Upworthy – http://www.upworthy.com/
  3. Lifehack – http://www.lifehack.org/
  4. The Verge – http://www.theverge.com/
  5. Elite Daily (Voice of Generation Y) – http://elitedaily.com/

Family dinners reduce effects of cyberbullying

Such a simple thing to do as parents. Some great thoughts in this article:

McGill study suggests frequent family time protects mental health among adolescent victims of online bullying

“The results are promising, but we do not want to oversimplify what we observed,” says Elgar, “Many adolescents do not have regular family meals but receive support in other ways, like shared breakfasts, or the morning school run.

Elgar also puts forth that parental involvement and supervision may go a long way to helping victims of cyberbullying, “Checking in with teens about their online lives may give them tools to manage online harassment or bullying that can easily go undetected.”

Click here for the entire article.

Are we Raising a Generation of Helpless Kids?

I have been out of teaching for 9 years myself but I saw similar things like the ones mentioned in this article when I was teaching Grades 7 & 8. Great read for parents and leaders today. Such great thoughts:

“We need to let our kids fail at 12 – which is far better than at 42,” he says. “We need to tell them the truth (with grace) that the notion of ‘you can do anything you want’ is not necessarily true.”

Kids need to align their dreams with their gifts. Every girl with a lovely voice won’t sing at the Met; every Little League baseball star won’t play for the major leagues.

• Allow them to get into trouble and accept the consequences. It’s okay to make a “C-.” Next time, they’ll try harder to make an “A”.

• Balance autonomy with responsibility. If your son borrows the car, he also has to re-fill the tank.

• Collaborate with the teacher, but don’t do the work for your child. If he fails a test, let him take the consequences.

Click here for the entire article.