Brett.Ullman

Category - youth workers

Serving Parents Who Do Not Go To Your Church

This is a really good article for anyone who works with students in the church world. I have often said that a Jr/Sr High Pastors job needs to be educating and empowering parents as well. As a parent myself I had to take a second and try and figure out if I am one of the parenting styles he mentions:

  • Helicopter Parents– they hover too close to the kids at all times.
  • Karaoke Parents– they try too hard to be cool, often parroting back what their kids do, say, and wear.
  • Dry-Cleaner Parents– drop their kids off for others to raise.
  • Volcano Parents– erupt over minor issues. (If you’ve never witnessed this just spend more time at Wal-Mart.  You’re bound to encounter these parents.)
  • Dropout Parents– these parents have just quit on their kids.
  • Bullied Parents– can’t stand up to their kids.
  • Groupie Parents– treat their kids like rock stars.
  • Commando Parents – let rules trump relationships.

There are some good practical ways to engage the parents of the students you work with.

Click here for the entire article.

The Adolescent Brain – What All Teens Need to Know

Amazing blog. Parents, teachers, youth workers and young adults please check it out.

Adolescents have dynamic, open, hungry minds. They are creative, brave and curious. It has to be this way. The only way to learn many of the skills they will need to be strong, healthy adults will be to stretch beyond what they’ve always known and to experiment with the world and their place in it.

The adolescent brain is wired to drive them through this transition, but there will be a few hairpin curves along the way. Skilful drivers are not born from straight roads.

Most of their behaviour, even the most baffling, frustrating, infuriating parts of it, can be explained by the changes that are taking place in their brains. This can feel as confusing for them as it does to us. It doesn’t mean they can sit back and blame their brains for their troublesome behaviour. They need to manage these changes in a healthy, adaptive way, but to do this they need information. When they have the information, they expand their capacity to respond to the world in ways that will help them thrive.

Click here for the entire blog.

Dear Church, 11 signs you’re burning out your staff.

Something I see as I travel around Canada and the US speaking is talking to many church staff members teetering on the edge of burnout or breakdown. Working 80 hours a week ongoing is not a badge of honour; it is actually a problem. Some great thoughts here. Senior leaders take a few minutes to see if you might be burning out your staff.

I saw burnout after burnout as staff members fell away from the church, and in some cases the faith, after bad experiences.

My favourite. #11. “You think this list is dumb.”

I took a lot of heat when I mentioned this post on Twitter. If this list fills you with rage, you might be this list.

Click here for the article.

How can parents keep updated on the changing trends in culture?

I often get asked how I keep current on today’s social media, current trends, music and other aspects of todays popular culture. Below are the blogs that I sign up for. I would encourage all youth workers and parents to sign up for all of them. I am NOT saying just “like” them on social media but actually sign up for their blogs.  It means you will get updates directly to your mailbox each week on where current culture is and where culture is heading. All these are free.

  1. Center for Parent and Youth Understanding: Click Here. Sign up for their weekly e-update
  2. Fuller Youth Institute: Click Here. Bi Weekly updates.
  3. Azuza Pacific University HomeWord: Click Here. Sign up for their Weekly Culture Updates.
  4. The Youth Culture Report: Click Here. Daily youth culture trends
  5. Pluggedin: Click Here. Sign up for their newsletter and choose Culture Clips
  6. Youth Ministry Unleashed: Click Here.
  7. Brett Ullman: Click Here. Sign up for daily or weekly updates.

If you know of other great blogs let me know and I will add them to this list.
Enjoy

My top 100 Blogs. Let me show you how to read 100 blogs each week.

Harry S. Truman once said:

“Not all readers are leaders, but all leaders are readers.”

I believe that we are all leaders in some area of our lives. This could be the workplace, school, parenting, volunteering, church, mentoring, friendships or any where else.  If we are all leaders then we better all become readers as well. For me as a speaker I need to be extremely knowledgeable on the topics that I speak on. Blogs have become paramount in keeping current with what is going on in the culture around me as well as in Christian faith communiity. When I tell people that I follow roughly 100 blogs people usually think I am crazy. Over my 17 years as a speaker I have learned how to collect knowledge when I see it. For example when I am on social media, reading magazines, books or in conversation and someone mentions a blog that they follow I add it to my list and see if it might be useful to me. I encourage everyone to keep a list of great resources that can help you in your life.

So how do I follow 100 blogs. I have been using a a website called Pulse.me which was recently bought by LinkedIn. For years the website and the app on my iPad were synced up. Recently since LinkIn bought pulse there have been issues with syncing so I now use only one platform on my iPad. I added in all of the blogs into the app and once a week I sit down and scroll through all of the blogs to see if there is any applicable content for me to use. This usually takes about 30 minutes. In the app you see small squares vertically which are each of the blogs from the blogger and you then have roughly 10 blogs horizontally as you scroll up and down. It is so simple.

Below are the blogs that I am currently following. This changes month by month as I drop certain blogs and add others. If after going through this list you think I should be following other blogs please send them through. You will also find that there is a wide range of blogs below. I love to read a wide range of opinions, thoughts and discussion on all areas of Christian faith.

These are in no particular order.

Faith Based Blogs

  1. Carey Niewhof – http://careynieuwhof.com/
  2. Rachel Held Evans – http://rachelheldevans.com/
  3. Carlos Whittaker – http://ragamuffinsoul.com/
  4. Orange Blogs – http://orangeblogs.org/
  5. Tim Challis – http://www.challies.com/
  6. Seth Barnes (Radical Living) – http://www.sethbarnes.com/
  7. David Sawler – http://www.davidsawler.com
  8. Mike King – http://king.typepad.com/mike_king/
  9. Bruxy Cavey – http://bruxy.com/blog/
  10. Anne Marie Miller – http://www.annemariemiller.com/
  11. Resurgence – http://theresurgence.com/
  12. Jamie the Very Worst Missionary – http://www.theveryworstmissionary.com/
  13. Brian McLaren – http://brianmclaren.net/
  14. Purpose City – http://purposecity.com/
  15. Perry Noble – http://perrynoble.com/P1
  16. POTSC (People of the Second Chance) – http://www.secondchance.org/blog-welcome/
  17. Tall Skinny Kiwi – http://tallskinnykiwi.com/
  18. Breathe – http://crystalkirgiss.wordpress.com/
  19. Doggie Head Tilt – http://www.doggieheadtilt.com/
  20. The Matt Walsh Blog – http://themattwalshblog.com/
  21. Mundane Faithfulness – http://mundanefaithfulness.com/category/blog/
  22. Jefferson Bethke – http://jeffbethke.com/
  23. Sarah Bessey – http://sarahbessey.com/
  24. Kary Oberbrunner (DayJob to Dream Job) – http://www.dayjobtodreamjob.com/blog/
  25. Storyline – http://storylineblog.com/
  26. Desiring God – http://www.desiringgod.org/blog
  27. Reclaiming the mind – http://www.reclaimingthemind.org/blog/
  28. John Fischer – http://catchjohnfischer.wordpress.com/
  29. Justin Taylor (Between Two Worlds) – http://thegospelcoalition.org/blogs/justintaylor/
  30. Kevin DeYoung  – http://thegospelcoalition.org/blogs/kevindeyoung/
  31. Jared C. Wilson – http://thegospelcoalition.org/blogs/gospeldrivenchurch/
  32. Fun & Faith – http://funandfaith.ca/
  33. Release the APE – http://www.releasetheape.com/
  34. Andrea Foster – http://illogicaljoy.wordpress.com/
  35. Bo Lane – http://bolane.org/
  36. Chris Chase – http://www.thatchrischase.com/blogthoughts/
  37. The Pastor’s Pen (Ted Haggard) – http://tedhaggardblog.com/
  38. Counselling One Another – http://counselingoneanother.com/
  39. Jessica Fick – http://jessicafick.com/
  40. NewDirection – http://www.newdirection.ca/blog/
  41. Tyler Ward – http://www.tylerwardis.com/
  42. Common Sense Media (Parents) – https://www.commonsensemedia.org/blog
  43. Common Sense Media – https://www.commonsensemedia.org/educators/blog
  44. Christal Speaks – http://www.christalspeaks.com/
  45. Q – http://qideas.org/
  46. her.meneutics – http://www.christianitytoday.com/women
  47. We are His Daughters – http://godfearingmama.wordpress.com/
  48. Single Dad Laughing – http://www.danoah.com/blog
  49. To Love Honour and Vacuum – http://tolovehonorandvacuum.com/
  50. Lisa-Jo Baker (Surprised by Motherhood) – http://lisajobaker.com/
  51. Lark News – http://www.larknews.com/
  52. Matthew Paul Turner –http://matthewpaulturner.com/blog/
  53. Church Marketing Sucks – http://www.churchmarketingsucks.com
  54. Church Pastor – http://www.churchpastor.com/
  55. Thom S. Rainer – http://thomrainer.com/blog/
  56. Tony Morgan – http://tonymorganlive.com/blog/
  57. Scott Jackson – http://christianflamethrower.blogspot.ca/
  58. Jared Wilson – http://jarridwilson.com
  59. Ministry Matters – http://www.ministrymatters.com/

Youth Ministry

  1. CPYU (Center for Parent / Youth Understanding) – http://www.cpyu.org/blog/
  2. Youth Ministry Unleashed – http://youthministryunleashed.com/
  3. Fuller Youth Institute – http://fulleryouthinstitute.org/blog
  4. CYW (Canadian Youth Worker) – http://canadianyouthworker.com/
  5. Barefoot Online – http://blog.barefootonline.com/blog/
  6. JuniorHighMinistry.org – http://juniorhighministry.org/blog/
  7. More Than Dodgeball – http://blog.simplyyouthministry.com/
  8. Youth Hope – http://www.youthhope.com/blog/
  9. YouthMin.org – http://youthminresources.com/category/blog/
  10. Adam Clarke – http://theemergingnetwork.com/
  11. The Youth Cartel – http://theyouthcartel.com/blog/
  12. Youth Worker – http://www.youthworker.com/
  13. DYM (Download Youth Ministry) – http://blog.downloadyouthministry.com/
  14. Vibrant Faith Ministries – http://blog.vibrantfaith.org/
  15. Jonathan Mckee Writes – http://www.jonathanmckeewrites.com/

Parenting

  1. Today (Parents) – http://www.today.com/parents
  2. Free-Range Kids – http://www.freerangekids.com/
  3. Not Alone (Special Needs Parenting) – http://specialneedsparenting.net/
  4. Parents Cue (Do Family Better) – http://theparentcue.org/blog

Leadership

  1. Seth Godin – http://sethgodin.typepad.com/
  2. Michael Hyatt – http://michaelhyatt.com/
  3. Leadership Journal (Parse) http://www.christianitytoday.com/parse/
  4. Gifted for Leadership – http://www.christianitytoday.com/gifted-for-leadership/
  5. Leading Smart – http://leadingsmart.com/
  6. Leadership Wired – http://www.johnmaxwell.com/blog/
  7. Tim Elmore (Leading the next generation) – http://growingleaders.com/blog/
  8. Ron Edmondson – http://www.ronedmondson.com/
  9. Bryan Miles – http://bryanmiles.me/
  10. Sharpening Leaders – http://www.sharpeningleaders.com/

Mental Health (Faith based)

  1. TWLOHA (To Write Love on Her Arms) – http://twloha.com/blog
  2. Dr. Merry Lin – http://drmerrylin.com/
  3. Grace Alliance – http://mentalhealthgracealliance.org/christian-mental-health-and-mental-illnes
  4. My Mental Illness & Christian Faith – http://mentalillnessandchristianfaith.blogspot.ca/

Mental Health (mainstream)

  1. Pick the Brain – http://www.pickthebrain.com/blog/
  2. A Splintered Mind – http://douglascootey.com/

Marketing

  1. Social Triggers – http://socialtriggers.com/#.
  2. Marie Forleo – http://www.marieforleo.com/

Mainstream Blogs

  1. Feminist Frequency – http://www.feministfrequency.com/
  2. Upworthy – http://www.upworthy.com/
  3. Lifehack – http://www.lifehack.org/
  4. The Verge – http://www.theverge.com/
  5. Elite Daily (Voice of Generation Y) – http://elitedaily.com/

The Teen Brain: It’s Just Not Grown Up Yet

Very interesting read for parents and youth leaders.

This also may explain why teenagers often seem so maddeningly self-centered. “You think of them as these surly, rude, selfish people,” Jensen says. “Well, actually, that’s the developmental stage they’re at. They aren’t yet at that place where they’re thinking about — or capable, necessarily, of thinking about the effects of their behavior on other people. That requires insight.”

[browser-shot width=”600″ url=”http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=124119468″]

Talking to Teens About Their Secret Habit

Henry Cloud says that we need to “Enter the Danger” when talking about tough conversations as opposed to ignoring them. Ron Powell does that with a tough conversation below. Please take the time to check it out!

In all of the discussion around internet pornography there is very little said about masturbation.

A posture of grace, love and affirming patient acceptance of young people who feel like failures in this area of their life is absolutely essential.

[browser-shot width=”600″ url=”http://youthministryunleashed.com/talking-teens-secret-habit/”]